© 2018 by Tacoma Lawn Bowling Club. Proudly created with Wix.com

Northwest Division Novice Single's Tournament 2017

1st - Melissa Miranda (Jefferson Park)

2nd - Lauren Donnellan (Tacoma)

3rd - Kane Tobin (Tacoma)

4th - Chase Richards (Jefferson Park)

Thanks to Tacoma, it was a record turnout for the 2017 Northwest Division Novice Singles Tournament! 26 novice bowlers from up and down the I-5 Rivalry met on the greens of Jefferson Park for the annual competition. Open to all bowlers in the division with less than three years of bowling experience, this tournament is a good indicator of a club’s future success. Suffice it to say, with 14 of the 26 participants and an outstanding competition by all, TLBC’s future certainly looks bright.

The 2017 Northwest Division Novice Singles Bowlers & Tournament Volunteers

The 26 bowlers were randomly assigned to one of four divisions. Each person played 4 games within their division, with 3 points for a win, 1 for a tie, and 0 for a loss. Tie breakers were determined by point differentials. The highest scoring player from each division advanced to the final round. Each rink was assigned a veteran bowler to serve as game official - facilitating judging and scoring. The best bowler from each division advanced to the finals with the two top scorers playing for 1st and 2nd, and the last two scorers playing for 3rd and 4th. Lauren, Chase, and Melissa, all went undefeated in their division, while Kane entered the final by virtue of a tiebreaker.

(clockwise from top left) Rick, serving as rink marker; Dania and Alaina warming up as the greens are rolled; Candace and Lauren busy on the green; Lindie a picture of focus; Christopher and Gene battling it out; Nathan going for the shot

Thank you to Alexis Vanden Bos for making the event possible; everyone had a great time and the format was perfect for novices. Thank you to the Jefferson Park Lawn Bowling Club for hosting the event, and thank you to all the participants from Seattle, Tacoma, and Portland who came for the challenge. A very special thank you to all of the rink markers and tournament staff who shared their time to make the event the success that it was.

Congratulations to (left to right) Chase Richards, Melissa Miranda, Lauren Donnellan, and Kane Tobin.