© 2018 by Tacoma Lawn Bowling Club. Proudly created with Wix.com

2017 Tacoma Club Championship

The 2017 TBLC Club Championship begins!

The first season back for the Tacoma Lawn Bowling Club just wouldn't be complete without crowning a club champion. A tournament was in order, and the committee came up with a format that is fitting for our unique group. The 16 competitors would each play four rounds of doubles, being assigned a team, rink, and opponents through a random draw before each round. Players received points for wins and ties, and point differential between players with equal win points provided the tie-breaking factor. At 10:00, chips were drawn for the first round and the competition began!

After four rounds, the competitors took their lunch break, and awaited results. The top six players, advanced to the second round, and played each other based off seed. Tony Tanner and Don Golden, Joe Ristvet and Jereme Evans, and Michael McKinley and Louis Vopata all advanced to the second round, playing each other in singles format, with one game determining winner from each pair. All games in the second round were close, and the lower seed from each game was able to beat their opponent and advance to the 2017 final round.

True to Tacoma doing things a little different, the final round was a game of cut-throat, with three people facing off against each other. Truly a unique format to the whole tournament, and Louis, Jereme, and Don, three great bowlers, all advanced. Louis started off fast and was able to hold off a furious charge from Jereme in the final ends to win the 2017 club championship! His name is proudly displayed on the club's newest trophy. Congratulations to all bowlers and a special thank you to the organizing committee!

From L-R

1st Place - Louis Vopata

2nd Place - Jereme Evans

3rd Place - Don Golden